Have You or a Loved One Been Arrested for DUI?
Under Florida law, driving under the influence of alcoholic beverages, chemical substances, or controlled substances, is one offense, proved by impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above.
What Are the Penalties for DUI in Florida?
- Community Service
- License Revocation
- DUI School
What Is an Ignition Interlock?
Florida law mandates that any driver convicted of a second DUI have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle. Anyone with an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle will be required to provide a breath sample into the mouthpiece of the device before they are able to start their vehicle.
What Are the Fines for DUI?
Not less than $500 or more than $5,000, depending on the number of convictions, the blood/breath alcohol level, the length of time between convictions, and whether there was a minor in the vehicle.
Can I Be Sentenced to Imprisonment?
A judge may direct that sentencing terms be served in a residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program and credited toward the term of imprisonment. The First conviction, not more than nine months, depending on the blood/breath alcohol level and whether there was a minor in the vehicle. The second and third conviction, not more than 12 months, with mandatory imprisonment depending on the number of convictions, the blood/breath alcohol level, and the length of time between convictions. The Fourth or subsequent convictions, imprisonment for not more than five years.
Can My Vehicle Be Impounded or Immobilized?
Unless the family of the defendant has no other transportation:
- First conviction – 10 days;
- A second conviction within five years of a prior conviction – 30 days;
- A third conviction within 10 years of a prior conviction – 90 days.
Can a Driver’s License Be Revoked for DUI
Minimum – 180 days revocation, maximum – mandatory permanent revocation, depending on the injury, the number of convictions, and the length of time between convictions.
Can I Have My Driver’s License Reinstated for Business or Employment Purposes?
First conviction, must complete DUI school and apply to DHSMV for hearing for possible hardship reinstatement. May be subjected to a mandatory ignition interlock device for up to six months. A second and third conviction may apply for hardship reinstatement hearing depending on the number of convictions, and the length of time between convictions, and may be subjected to ignition interlock device, depending on the number of convictions, and the length of time between convictions.
Do You or a Loved One Need Help With a DUI?
If you or a loved one have been arrested for DUI, you are probably overwhelmed and confused as to what to do next. It is critical that you get help from an experienced DUI attorney. DUI cases are complex and require the help of someone with DUI experience. An experienced DUI attorney will be able to help you navigate through the complicated, interconnected mass of DUI laws and DHSMV rules, and get you the best possible outcome.
Why Fernandez & Hernandez?
If you or a loved one have been arrested for DUI in the Tampa Bay area and need help, Fernandez & Hernandez will provide a free consultation and discuss the case with you. The DUI attorneys at Fernandez & Hernandez will help guide you through the process. If you need legal assistance call Tampa DUI Attorney Daniel J. Fernandez of Fernandez & Hernandez at 813-229-5353.